About the Church

Our church was completed in 1840. The architect was Richard Shackleton Pope. "The river Frome in front of the church was covered over in 1893; the area eventually became Colston Avenue." The church was built by the Irvingites (the Catholic Apostolic Church; "distanced themselves from the Presbyterian origins of their founder-Edward Irving and developed more along High Anglican and Roman Catholic lines"). 

ACTIVITIES & GROUPS

Safeguarding Matters

The Diocese has a Safeguarding Commission chaired by an Independent lay person with extensive experience in working with children and vulnerable adults. Other members of the Commission come from a range of relevant professional backgrounds such as Social Care, the Police, Health, Probation and Clergy.

The Commission oversees and guides the work of the Safeguarding Team, ensuring the correct implementation of Policy and Procedures. It is accountable to the Bishop and Trustees.

Visit the Clifton Diocese website for more details.

St Mary-on-the-Quay | Roman Catholic Church | Bristol, England | Diocese of Clifton | Registered Charity No. 1170168